Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

Thinking that my 07 R6 engine is toast...

6K views 67 replies 17 participants last post by  MELK-MAN 
#1 ·
I've read things from this forum for a long time just never made an account until now. Anyway if you guys could hear me out that would be great. So last weekend I was riding and got stuck at a construction zone where there was a light and had to wait almost 2 minutes for the light. It was 95 degrees out, my bike warmed up and fans turned on. Light turned green, I started going. As i was shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear I lost lots of power and it started to sound almost like a V-twin bike with very loud ticking/clanking. I rode a quarter mile perhaps to the next exit and got off and shut it off, haven't turned it on since. From posts i've read im assuming its a rod bearing, or crank bearing or something. (I'm not good with all the terms). I had the right amount of oil, but i've read about oil pressure problems in the 06-07's? Is my engine likely shot? What are my options? I know i'm going to take a big $$ loss here but just trying to see how bad.

And if anyone is from Minnesota and knows of a good trustworthy shop to bring the bike to in the Minneapolis area that would be awesome. If I need a new engine where is the best place to get one and how much am I looking to be spending for a good one, is it possible to put engine in with some knowledge of these things?
Hopefully this post makes sense, I love my R6... wan't to see her run again. By the way bike has nearly 18k miles on it.
Thanks again anyone who sees this!

See less See more
#4 ·
Take a spray bottle first and check to see if all four header pipes are at temp. if a cylinder went down (engine failure, plug fell out, or the ignition coil popped off) it could sound like a lawnmower.

#5 ·