Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

Cruisers and No Helmets??

1K views 14 replies 10 participants last post by  38329 
#1 ·
I just worked a fatality accident involving a Harley rider striking the rear of an 18 wheeler. He hit the pavement pretty hard. He locked up the rear brake, high sided, struck his head on the concrete. Of course he wasn't wearing a helmet and then struck the rear of the truck's trailer. He would've been ok, but no helmet? What gives? The majority of the riders on cruisers I see are not wearing any helmets. Since that's the case, why are we sportbike riders being chastized for being reckless and riding without abandon? When most of us, at least the ones I know, ride with proper gear.:confused:

http://www.pomf.org/rideforfallen/
Check out the site and go ride for a good cause.

#3 ·
I see it all the time. I'm a police officer here in Beaumont, Texas. The worst I've seen involved a guy on a sportbike, unknown what it was due to it being demolished. He was traveling well in excess of 100 mph and hit a curb. He then flew into the air like a human torpedo into a house. He went through the outside wall, over the couple sleeping in their bed, through another interior wall, and nearly out the other side of the house. He was lying half in and out of the exterior wall. Pretty nasty. His own fault. Being stupid.

#4 ·
Yea rarely do I see dudes on cruisers with helmets, its just as dangerous for them, except for the acceleration and high speed factor (which plays a big part in a lot of motorcylce accidents) but none the less very dangerous, there is a lot of kids on bike not wearing helmets around here tho, but their riding gear consists of shorts and flip flops, maybe even a tanktop haha but people please protect your heads!

#5 ·