Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

Cylinder head bolts not tightening!!

6K views 15 replies 5 participants last post by  MirGz 
#1 ·
Please someone help me...took head off, upon reinstalling 3 bolts just spin and dont tighten....from internet research i came to tge conclusion that the holes in the block must have stripped threading....now I have a couple questions about my options.

1. Can i run a m10 "thread chaser" to "Clean threads" and try again? Anyone have experience chasing a stripped hole this way with success?

2. Could I add another washer to bolt and see if it torques down that way? (This was just a random thought I had but wasnt sure sinse the camshaft spins right over the head bolts)

3. Called machine shop and they want $75 a helicoil smh is this possible to do myself? Seen many people say yes but just asking. Ive been wrenching on cars for about 7 years and just started with bikes.

4. If I do helicoil will it be a "permanent fix" as in if I had to take head off again, would i run into problems once again ehen its time to reinstall?

5. And last, I see most ppl say either "Timesert" or "Helicoil" which is or permanent ......which would you recommend?

Pleasd anyone with experience Please Please help.... Im going crazy..