Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

Throttle body sync issue

6K views 9 replies 3 participants last post by  Flyers28 
#1 ·
Have a question for the knowledgeable as I admit I'm still learning to diagnose engines. Had to sync my throttle bodies and noticed that no matter how much I turned the screw in and out there would only be a negligible change in vacuum (using Morgan carbtune). So question I can't find an answer to is why this would be?

I figured the tools tubes were not sealed enough around the nipple. So I made sure that was not an issue and still same results.

The bikes at least a little smoother at rpm but it's not right because the bike sounds like a choked engine a few seconds on cold starts.

And yes I'm adjusting the right screws, done this a bunch of times with no issue.

#2 · (Edited)
did you blip the throttle a few times after you made an adjustment?

oddly enough the first time and the last time i tried to do my R6 it was with my buddy's morgan carb tune and I was experiencing the same thing. blipping the throttle like the manual said did seem to work.
I blamed it mostly on the tool since it uses metal rods instead of a liquid. i thought it just cant do small changes as well as a liquid.

#3 ·
Yep blip the throttle each time. I never had a problem with it and the tool always got nothing but great reviews. Maybe I will contact the company and see if it is tool related, but even so I would think the engine would change in tone or make some indication when the air screw is backed out or in fully.

#4 ·