Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-19-2010, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: No Cal
Posts: 7
Bike: 09 R1, 09 R6, 07 Duc S4RS
Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

I'm considering purchasing the Bazzaz Traction control unit and also adding the Z-AFM (Air Fuel Mapping) module. Has anyone used these products? If so , worth it? This is for an 09 R6 strictly track bike. I was considering this system instead of the Power commander V.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks
dbenkle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-19-2010, 09:29 PM
Riding his own ride...
 
gsxcorey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,722
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

I have it on my bike. The traction control is very hard to set up correctly. It's easy to leave in the default settings and use it as a fail safe, but to set it up properly is pretty damn hard. For this reason I would recommend the ZFI-QS and ZAFM. Their quickshifter is the smoothest i've used.
gsxcorey is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-20-2010, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: No Cal
Posts: 7
Bike: 09 R1, 09 R6, 07 Duc S4RS
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

From talking to Bazzaz it was my understanding that when you get the TC module it includes both the Quick shift and Fuel management? Maybe I need to call them again.
David
dbenkle is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-20-2010, 05:34 PM
Lifetime Premium
 
michaelrc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,460
Bike: R6
Send a message via AIM to michaelrc51
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbenkle View Post
From talking to Bazzaz it was my understanding that when you get the TC module it includes both the Quick shift and Fuel management? Maybe I need to call them again.
David
You are correct, Corey is just saying that the TC is hard to set up properly you would be fine going with the QS model which is the same just less the TC.
michaelrc51 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-20-2010, 09:52 PM
Riding his own ride...
 
gsxcorey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,722
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

+1 to the above

zfi=fuel controller
zfi-qs=fuel controller and quickshifter
zfi-tc=fuel controller, quickshifter, and traction control.

Unless you have a race team to back you up or can afford to ride the bike on the limits to just set up the traction control then don't expect to use it as it's designed. It's really made for the pro's or very competitive racers. The quickshifter model everyone can use and it's easy to set up and works very well.
gsxcorey is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-26-2010, 01:53 PM
I eat my R6
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 247
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

I have Bazzaz Tc on both my R6 ....I do not find it very difficult to set up and for a medium rider is a great back up on used slippery tires!
YAMAHA-RACING is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-31-2010, 08:48 AM
Riding his own ride...
 
gsxcorey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,722
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

for a backup, but to set up properly the way it's designed takes riding on the limit and normally a backup bike or two as you will go down trying to set it up. If you want it as a backup then leave it on stock settings, but that's not what traction control is for. It's for as motogp uses it, so you can be skipping the tire all over as you're coming out of a corner and using every last inch of the pavement. To set it up to help in those situations (as it's designed) requires riding/testing in that environment and normally a few crashes. One of our sponsored guys went down twice setting it up, but now that it's set up it's 100% badass for him.

A few local guys here have it come on for htem and then state they are using it, but their settings are so sensitive there is no reason it should come on, but it gives them bragging rights.

For most save your money imo...It's a great unit for the competitive racer, but for others it's going to be a spendy fail safe and nothing more. Their quickshifter though is....the best i've seen so far!

Last edited by gsxcorey; 05-31-2010 at 08:50 AM.
gsxcorey is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 05:37 AM
Your him...
 
Carnag3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,050
Bike: 3 06 R6
Send a message via AIM to Carnag3
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

I have both the TC/QS/ZFI unit and the QZ/ZFI unit and the I ran faster lap times w/o the TC on.

One day I'll find someone to tune it for me, but I'm also used to having the rear slide on me here and there.

CCS/WERA/ASRA #901 EX (15 Regional Championships in 2010)
CARNAG3| Shoei | Pitbull | DC-Moto Amsoil |

*LARGEST FACEBOOK MOTORCYCLE & PARTS FOR SALE PAGE*
Carnag3 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 10:19 PM
My R6 eats me.
 
philthethrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 26
Bike: 08 R6
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

i have this on a bike i just purchased , wat do you recommend i set it at? i do spin my rear tire quite a bit. i dont want it kicking on so much it makes me slow just would like it there if the rear slips in excess.
philthethrill is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 11:36 PM
Yeah Science!
 
wutsup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,320
Bike: gixxer chrome edition
Re: Anyone tried the Bazzaz Z-F1 TC

Quote:
Originally Posted by philthethrill View Post
i have this on a bike i just purchased , wat do you recommend i set it at? i do spin my rear tire quite a bit. i dont want it kicking on so much it makes me slow just would like it there if the rear slips in excess.
I know you're new here, but please look at the date.

Chris
08 Track R6
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC51 View Post
Then you need worse brakes, not better ones. I suggest adding some air to your lines and spraying your pads with wd-40 before you go out. You'll find all kinds of corner speed.
wutsup is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make your own Bazzaz map switch (discretely) zac5876 How To's... 14 01-30-2013 08:17 PM
Bazzaz map help jibbonacci Exhaust and fuel delivery 1 03-28-2010 04:06 PM
Bazzaz Performance ECUs & Parts RidersDiscount Riders Discount 0 12-09-2009 06:28 AM
Bazzaz Quickshift problem. Jimbo357mag Exhaust and fuel delivery 0 07-13-2009 11:28 AM
speedo problem after bazzaz install ThomasUSMC General Discussions 17 02-20-2009 09:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome