cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1? : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Related Discussion > Garage / Mechanical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
cbrkp
I eat my R6
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 112
Bike: 07 Cbr 600RR & 06 R6
cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

06 r6r. trying to get into diagnostic mode as per service manual but nothing works.

I dont have a check engine light. but want to get into diagnostic mode to see if thats why the bike is not starting.

The rectifier and regulator is not connected as well as i'm waiting for that piece to arrive so am a little uncertain if that is needed to properly access diagnostic mode.

lastly the dash shows H1 all the time and in trip section i think its shows either 51 or s1

please help thanks
__________________
If you're not falling you're not trying hard enough
cbrkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2012, 06:34 PM   #2
Ryan5544
Suk it, Lee
 
Ryan5544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,033
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

Not entirely sure what the H1 etc. is, but..

To get into diag. mode.

Key off, press and hold reset and select at the same time, hold for about 5 seconds, turn the key on, still holding the two buttons, continue to hold for about 5 more seconds, or until ''DIAG'' is displayed.

Aaaaaaaand you're in.
Ryan5544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:20 PM   #3
cbrkp
I eat my R6
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 112
Bike: 07 Cbr 600RR & 06 R6
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan5544 View Post
Not entirely sure what the H1 etc. is, but..

To get into diag. mode.

Key off, press and hold reset and select at the same time, hold for about 5 seconds, turn the key on, still holding the two buttons, continue to hold for about 5 more seconds, or until ''DIAG'' is displayed.

Aaaaaaaand you're in.
thanks for the reply. i have been doin that as per the service manual and no luck. . anybody know why i can't? does it have to do with the fact the rectifier and regulator is not hooked up?
__________________
If you're not falling you're not trying hard enough
cbrkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:23 PM   #4
bluerebel
Sometimes..........
 
bluerebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central Cali.
Posts: 3,379
Bike: 2012 R6
If you turn the key to ON.. Does the dash light up?
__________________
I dont measure life in dollar bills, I measure life with the joy I get out of it.


bluerebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:26 AM   #5
cbrkp
I eat my R6
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 112
Bike: 07 Cbr 600RR & 06 R6
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluerebel View Post
If you turn the key to ON.. Does the dash light up?
yes it does light up, tach sweeps as per normal just on the right side you always see H1 and 51. cannot go into diagnostic mode. I can however go into tach mode (change shift light, brightness, shift point,etc. )
__________________
If you're not falling you're not trying hard enough
cbrkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 05:19 AM   #6
Matchlessmingler
I eat my R6
 
Matchlessmingler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 270
Bike: 2006 R6 Team Yamaha Blue
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

Does the bike start up? Did it do so before you removed the rectifier? Code 51 is an immobilizer malfunction - meaning there is no connection or faulty connection between the transponder (your key) and the immobilizer. Did you have any starting issues with the bike before?

"H1" you're referring to is HI. If I'm not mistaken, it implies high temperature.

I always make sure everything is hooked up before doing any service or diagnostics cos' it tends to confuse you when codes are thrown up. You can't really tell if its cos' of a genuine fault or because of the disconnected components.

If you're not running the engine and it indicates a high temperature, you may have a problem with your cooling system particularly the fan and thermostat. However, if you didn't have any fault codes prior to service, the first practical thing to do is put everything back together the way it was before fettling around with anything else.

Good luck!
__________________
Some basic R6 outlines for those "digitally challenged" Crayola fans out there
1999 R6 Outline
2003 R6 Outline
2006 R6 Outline
Matchlessmingler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:34 AM   #7
cbrkp
I eat my R6
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 112
Bike: 07 Cbr 600RR & 06 R6
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matchlessmingler View Post
Does the bike start up? Did it do so before you removed the rectifier? Code 51 is an immobilizer malfunction - meaning there is no connection or faulty connection between the transponder (your key) and the immobilizer. Did you have any starting issues with the bike before?

"H1" you're referring to is HI. If I'm not mistaken, it implies high temperature.

I always make sure everything is hooked up before doing any service or diagnostics cos' it tends to confuse you when codes are thrown up. You can't really tell if its cos' of a genuine fault or because of the disconnected components.

If you're not running the engine and it indicates a high temperature, you may have a problem with your cooling system particularly the fan and thermostat. However, if you didn't have any fault codes prior to service, the first practical thing to do is put everything back together the way it was before fettling around with anything else.

Good luck!
thanks for the reply and funny you ask if it start as it does not . I recently purchased this bike missing the front end,fairings and uncertain it starts. slowly puttting it back together and the last item missing is the rectifier.

i did more diggin and from what you've said along with what ive read it does sound to be immobilizer related (bike cranks but does not start and i cannot hear the fuel pump prime). the immobilizer looks to be fiddled with or previously broken or hacked but something fishy is going on for sure. the previous owner only had a black key for me and no red key. so i dont think i can try and flash it as per normal methods. the red key light (immobilizer) does not light up either so not sure if that is related.

if its an immobilizer related issue can (flash tune) disable the immobilizer function? and are there other options ie: can i get a US harness and Ecu? this will be a track bike anyways.
__________________
If you're not falling you're not trying hard enough
cbrkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:39 AM   #8
Matchlessmingler
I eat my R6
 
Matchlessmingler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 270
Bike: 2006 R6 Team Yamaha Blue
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

I had a friend who screwed up his immobilizer. I wouldn't bother contacting Yamaha for a replacement $$$$. The only thing that eventually worked out was one of those programmable race ecu's you get on Ebay that bypass the security. All he did was swap/remove a few connector pins that went into the ecu and it was as good as new....without the immobilizer function of course.

Alternately, you can get a replacement from Motomatrix (UK), where you have to send in your keys, ignition and ecu. Or maybe if you can source a used ignition system with the aforementioned parts + tank cap and seat lock. I'm not sure but the US spec might be the cheapest option if it can be accommodated - unfortunately I don't know for sure.

As for the security light not flashing, it only stays on for just 24h after your last ignition turn and then goes off.

I'm not entirely sure how much a red key would have helped in your situation with a broken immobilizer. Has it sustained any damage or has it been replaced?

Either way, I hope you manage to sort it out as you seem to have put a lot of effort into it. I have attached an extract from the service manual. Hope it helps. Best of luck!

__________________
Some basic R6 outlines for those "digitally challenged" Crayola fans out there
1999 R6 Outline
2003 R6 Outline
2006 R6 Outline
Matchlessmingler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:53 PM   #9
cbrkp
I eat my R6
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 112
Bike: 07 Cbr 600RR & 06 R6
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matchlessmingler View Post
I had a friend who screwed up his immobilizer. I wouldn't bother contacting Yamaha for a replacement $$$$. The only thing that eventually worked out was one of those programmable race ecu's you get on Ebay that bypass the security. All he did was swap/remove a few connector pins that went into the ecu and it was as good as new....without the immobilizer function of course.

Alternately, you can get a replacement from Motomatrix (UK), where you have to send in your keys, ignition and ecu. Or maybe if you can source a used ignition system with the aforementioned parts + tank cap and seat lock. I'm not sure but the US spec might be the cheapest option if it can be accommodated - unfortunately I don't know for sure.

As for the security light not flashing, it only stays on for just 24h after your last ignition turn and then goes off.

I'm not entirely sure how much a red key would have helped in your situation with a broken immobilizer. Has it sustained any damage or has it been replaced?

Either way, I hope you manage to sort it out as you seem to have put a lot of effort into it. I have attached an extract from the service manual. Hope it helps. Best of luck!


thanks for the reply matey!

the immobilizer has sustained substaintial damage and looks to be repaired but not totally sure how well repaired.

This is going to be a track bike so I have been considering flash tune, so I think I will go with that. I'll disable the immobilizer with the flash tune interface and remove it altogether anyways. just hope that the problem I'm having is actually the immobilizer not something else heh.
__________________
If you're not falling you're not trying hard enough
cbrkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:01 AM   #10
MRVR6
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Re: cannot get into diagnostic mode and dash always shows h1 and code 51 or s1?

Hi, did you manage to get the bike into diagnostic mode? I have a similar situation with an '09 R6 I'm trying to revive for the track. I am trying to get into diagnostic mode (holding SELECT/RESET, switching on main switch, holding 8 seconds ...) but its not getting there.
MRVR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPS Diagnostic Mode Hellerox Garage / Mechanical Help 45 06-04-2013 06:52 PM
Diagnostic Mode for 2007 cluster? R6xxer Garage / Mechanical Help 6 07-03-2011 05:49 PM
Diagnostic Mode???? D33PU Garage / Mechanical Help 2 04-21-2008 08:58 PM
Diagnostic mode R6 2006 Anthony00 Garage / Mechanical Help 2 05-28-2007 09:08 AM
DIAGNOSTIC MODE from OEM Cluster... IWannaBoost General Discussions 4 03-16-2005 09:59 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum
R6-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R6-Forum.com is generated by its users and R6-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.