Quick turn throttles?? - Page 2 : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Community Topics > General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2012, 10:33 AM   #11
R-Silaxin
Track=Cocaine
 
R-Silaxin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 13,523
Bike: 06 R-6 Deathraven
Re: Quick turn throttles??

I'll be picking up that Motion Pro here REAL soon. With the ECU flash I found myself having to really work to get my throttle to WOT... I'd have to roll my hand up the throttle while accelerating... Motion Pro is definitely essential!
__________________
RIP Richard Bishop. You're a great friend and someone I will never forget.
MY TRACK BUILD THREAD http://www.r6-forum.com/forums/showt...05#post2428805
MY TRACK DAY THREADhttp://www.r6-forum.com/forums/showt...655&highlight=
MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL https://www.youtube.com/user/adam2cox
MY FACEBOOK http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...79&ref=tn_tnmn


MY XBL GAMERTAG: AmericanGingers
R-Silaxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2012, 10:50 AM   #12
csmutty
ECK Racing
 
csmutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 165
Bike: 06 R6, 08 FZ6, 05 KTM125
Re: Quick turn throttles??

I have a euroturn throttle on my race r6 and love it.
__________________
LRRS/CCS #316 ECK Racing Tony's Track Days | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | Motorcycles of Manchester | Street & Competition | MTag-Pirelli | AestheticRAIN | OnTrack Media

2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!
csmutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:21 AM   #13
boloson
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Re: Quick turn throttles??

Quote:
Originally Posted by csmutty View Post
I have a euroturn throttle on my race r6 and love it.
Hello fellow nesrian. No issues with your ER? How long have u had it??How is the biggest cam on the kit compared to stock r6 throttle?
boloson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:30 AM   #14
BigShepp
Tron has corrupted me
 
BigShepp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norman OK
Posts: 1,413
Bike: 2005 R6 Raven "Deimos"
Re: Quick turn throttles??

I'll explain. The MP kits are NOT 100% bike specific. They ask for your make and model to see if you will need the added stop/start switch and to see if your bars are the correct diameter. The bike specific part comes with your cable lengths. These are the bike specific parts.

What is NOT bike specific is the length of the entire kit. With my bike, 05 R6, the length of the required stop start switch and the kit itself is longer than my stock handlebar. Aftermarket heli bars are required, and those aren't bike specific either. Furthermore, the stop/start switch cable length is a good six inches shorter than the stock length on my bike. Additionally, the pin that drops into the handlebar is on a different location for the stock and MP switches.

Most, if not all of the fitment issues stem from the added Stop/start switch. If your bike doesn't require one, then chances are it will be a perfect fit. However if yours is a bike that requires the switch, you had better be prepared for quite a bit of modification.

When I finish my next project I'll be doing a write up on my install of the kit. All in all it's going to run me close to $400 because of all the extra parts I had to buy. I refuse to let the throttle hang over the end of the bar and I refuse to have heli bars that sit above the forks.
__________________
Hard work yields great rewards, but idle talk leads only to destruction.
Proverbs 14:23

“Faster, Faster, Until The Thrill Of Speed Overcomes The Fear Of Death.”
Hunter S. Thompson

"It wasn't until I went to college and I got my first motorcycle that I understood the thrill of speed."
Vin Diesel
BigShepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:36 AM   #15
csmutty
ECK Racing
 
csmutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 165
Bike: 06 R6, 08 FZ6, 05 KTM125
Re: Quick turn throttles??

Quote:
Originally Posted by boloson View Post
Hello fellow nesrian. No issues with your ER? How long have u had it??How is the biggest cam on the kit compared to stock r6 throttle?
No idea how the largest cam relates to the stock throttle, as I have never had a stock throttle on the bike. The bike came with the euroturn already installed. Only thing I did was change cams. It came with the smallest cam installed and I put in the largest cam as the throttle was much too sensitive. With the largest cam in there it works well though. Gives me enough of a turn so that I can be precise, but also makes it comfortable to go wfo without hand adjustment. I'd offer you a chance to try it out, but with a blown motor that makes it kinda hard haha.
__________________
LRRS/CCS #316 ECK Racing Tony's Track Days | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | Motorcycles of Manchester | Street & Competition | MTag-Pirelli | AestheticRAIN | OnTrack Media

2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!
csmutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:45 AM   #16
Tdub
FastForward Performance
 
Tdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: OWB, Ky
Posts: 961
Bike: Honda Z50
Re: Quick turn throttles??

In 2011 I had 2 brand new R6. Ordered 3 (one for spares) MP Revolver kits for the 2011 R6, received it and bolted it on.
Now I imagine if you go back a few years, you might run into some issues. But in my experience with the new bikes, that is not an issue.
Tdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:37 PM   #17
boloson
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Re: Quick turn throttles??

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigShepp View Post
I'll explain. The MP kits are NOT 100% bike specific. They ask for your make and model to see if you will need the added stop/start switch and to see if your bars are the correct diameter. The bike specific part comes with your cable lengths. These are the bike specific parts.

What is NOT bike specific is the length of the entire kit. With my bike, 05 R6, the length of the required stop start switch and the kit itself is longer than my stock handlebar. Aftermarket heli bars are required, and those aren't bike specific either. Furthermore, the stop/start switch cable length is a good six inches shorter than the stock length on my bike. Additionally, the pin that drops into the handlebar is on a different location for the stock and MP switches.

Most, if not all of the fitment issues stem from the added Stop/start switch. If your bike doesn't require one, then chances are it will be a perfect fit. However if yours is a bike that requires the switch, you had better be prepared for quite a bit of modification.

When I finish my next project I'll be doing a write up on my install of the kit. All in all it's going to run me close to $400 because of all the extra parts I had to buy. I refuse to let the throttle hang over the end of the bar and I refuse to have heli bars that sit above the forks.
Ok so it's more of a space issue you're talking about. On my previous gixxer I did have to purchase the start/stop switch with the MP kit but never had an issue with space on the clipon. But I also had woodcraft clipons & they also make extra long bars as an option. U might want to look into that

Quote:
Originally Posted by csmutty View Post
No idea how the largest cam relates to the stock throttle, as I have never had a stock throttle on the bike. The bike came with the euroturn already installed. Only thing I did was change cams. It came with the smallest cam installed and I put in the largest cam as the throttle was much too sensitive. With the largest cam in there it works well though. Gives me enough of a turn so that I can be precise, but also makes it comfortable to go wfo without hand adjustment. I'd offer you a chance to try it out, but with a blown motor that makes it kinda hard haha.
Ouch. Sorry about your motor but at least u have all winter to fix or replace it. So no issues with the er so far eh? I've read in 2 or more instances where people had issues with the er kit. I cant say if it was install error or product error but with the price they're selling them for & those reviews, it kinda scared me from buying it. Might have to stick with motion pro but i really don't have the need for all the extra cams
boloson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:24 PM   #18
BigShepp
Tron has corrupted me
 
BigShepp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norman OK
Posts: 1,413
Bike: 2005 R6 Raven "Deimos"
I would imagine with newer bikes you wouldn't need the switch, ad in that case I would expect it to work perfectly.

Yea I bought a pair of aftermarket clip ones, but the 05 R6 has a weird triple tree clip on setup. Any aftermarket set would stick up above the forks. I'm in the process of getting a set that will fit correctly


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
__________________
Hard work yields great rewards, but idle talk leads only to destruction.
Proverbs 14:23

“Faster, Faster, Until The Thrill Of Speed Overcomes The Fear Of Death.”
Hunter S. Thompson

"It wasn't until I went to college and I got my first motorcycle that I understood the thrill of speed."
Vin Diesel
BigShepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT: 08+ R6 Vortex gas cap kit for a quick turn gas cap kit Envycycles Bikes + Parts + Gear Wanted 1 05-10-2012 02:10 PM
the R1 quick turn throttle mod Agg2001 Garage / Mechanical Help 26 07-22-2010 07:56 AM
Quick-turn throttle? danaatscootdotnet General Discussions 15 05-20-2008 11:06 AM
Do they make shorter throttles? and. kris242 General Discussions 2 09-02-2007 02:54 PM
Quick turn signal?? jbird Appearance and Exterior Mods 7 04-05-2005 09:47 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum
R6-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R6-Forum.com is generated by its users and R6-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.