06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help - Page 2 : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Related Discussion > Garage / Mechanical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2012, 11:13 AM   #11
AFG
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
Re: 06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MELK-MAN View Post
as i stated before, you need to put the dash into "diagnostic mode".. there is a sticky post on how to do this. then use your manual to check the codes that get show, and there are about 4 that you check with the throttle closed then again OPEN. There will be a range indicated, like a number between 15-21 when closed, then 90-105 with throttle open for example..
I am not talking about a code that is showing on the dash currently, you must put the dash into diag mode.

maybe you do need throttle bodies. but before you go buying as set that is used (and not 100% sure they will be better than the ones you have) RUN THE DIAG TESTS
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheefar6 View Post
completely forgot about the diag mode thing, yea id honestly go through there with the manual out and check every sensor make sure everything is within spec.

sucks about your first td man, but sounds like you still got to ride a dift bike so all is good haha, itll just make the next one that much better
Thanks for the help guys! I'll put it in Diag mode tonight and see if I get anything
AFG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2014, 08:52 PM   #12
lunchbox101
I eat my R6
 
lunchbox101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 1,379
Re: 06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help

Bumping Thread!!!!!!


Does anyone else have this issue?? What is the solution? My bike just started having this problem. 2007 R6. Confirmed it is not the cables. It is the mechanism pictured.
lunchbox101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 11:00 PM   #13
lunchbox101
I eat my R6
 
lunchbox101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 1,379
Re: 06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunchbox101 View Post
Bumping Thread!!!!!!


Does anyone else have this issue?? What is the solution? My bike just started having this problem. 2007 R6. Confirmed it is not the cables. It is the mechanism pictured.
I removed the throttle bodies. That mechanism is secured with some security type of screws. Ended up buying another set of throttle bodies on ebay, along with new throttle cables since one of mine was beginning to fray.
lunchbox101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 08:53 AM   #14
MELK-MAN
"The Dude abides .. "
 
MELK-MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: tampa
Posts: 4,188
Bike: 2008 yamaha R6 - 2 bikes
Re: 06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunchbox101 View Post
I removed the throttle bodies. That mechanism is secured with some security type of screws. Ended up buying another set of throttle bodies on ebay, along with new throttle cables since one of mine was beginning to fray.
do not move the throttle position sensors (tps) unless you KNOW what you are doing.
BEFORE you bother removing the throttle bodies, have you put the dash into "diagnostic mode" ? You can pull out your manual and verify D0:1, D0:14-15-16 .. (do;1 for sure is one of the 4 throttle position tests, there are 4 or so altogether). There is a range of acceptable readings, then roll the throttle to verify the tps is registering a nice "Sweep", and check your 100% throttle position on the dash. there is a RANGE there too.
the tps to the FAR RIGHT is usually 16-19 when closed. Try setting it to 18.. then verify the 100% throttle is still in an acceptable range (Thank's EMRY for that tip)>
__________________
MICHELIN, EBC, Proflow Technologies
Silkolene, JenningsGP, Engine Ice, Sharkskinz, Pit-Bull


Greg Melka - CCS roadracing and FTR harescrambles
www.facebook.com/greg.melka.1
My racin n' ridin youtube vids http://www.youtube.com/user/gregmelka?feature=mhee
MELK-MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 01:51 PM   #15
lunchbox101
I eat my R6
 
lunchbox101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 1,379
Re: 06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MELK-MAN View Post
do not move the throttle position sensors (tps) unless you KNOW what you are doing.
BEFORE you bother removing the throttle bodies, have you put the dash into "diagnostic mode" ? You can pull out your manual and verify D0:1, D0:14-15-16 .. (do;1 for sure is one of the 4 throttle position tests, there are 4 or so altogether). There is a range of acceptable readings, then roll the throttle to verify the tps is registering a nice "Sweep", and check your 100% throttle position on the dash. there is a RANGE there too.
the tps to the FAR RIGHT is usually 16-19 when closed. Try setting it to 18.. then verify the 100% throttle is still in an acceptable range (Thank's EMRY for that tip)>
I did not attempt diagnostic mode prior to removing the throttle bodies. It seems to be a mechanical issue. The part with the spring, that the throttle cables connect to, does not snap closed. I removed both cables, and opened it with my hand. It goes back very slowly. When i receive the ebay throttle bodies, I will try to remember to take a comparison video.
lunchbox101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 05:00 PM   #16
MELK-MAN
"The Dude abides .. "
 
MELK-MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: tampa
Posts: 4,188
Bike: 2008 yamaha R6 - 2 bikes
Re: 06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunchbox101 View Post
I did not attempt diagnostic mode prior to removing the throttle bodies. It seems to be a mechanical issue. The part with the spring, that the throttle cables connect to, does not snap closed. I removed both cables, and opened it with my hand. It goes back very slowly. When i receive the ebay throttle bodies, I will try to remember to take a comparison video.
the op's bike is not a 3rd gen. butterflys are operated 1:1 with throttle tube all the time.

YOUR bike is not.. it's fly by wire. The butterflys are operated by a servo motor, that is told what to do by the tps AND the ecu. Your butterflys will not "snap" back closed like a 2nd gen bike does.
__________________
MICHELIN, EBC, Proflow Technologies
Silkolene, JenningsGP, Engine Ice, Sharkskinz, Pit-Bull


Greg Melka - CCS roadracing and FTR harescrambles
www.facebook.com/greg.melka.1
My racin n' ridin youtube vids http://www.youtube.com/user/gregmelka?feature=mhee

Last edited by MELK-MAN; 03-11-2014 at 05:03 PM.
MELK-MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 06:17 PM   #17
lunchbox101
I eat my R6
 
lunchbox101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 1,379
Re: 06 r6v FBW Throttle sensor blown? Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MELK-MAN View Post
the op's bike is not a 3rd gen. butterflys are operated 1:1 with throttle tube all the time.

YOUR bike is not.. it's fly by wire. The butterflys are operated by a servo motor, that is told what to do by the tps AND the ecu. Your butterflys will not "snap" back closed like a 2nd gen bike does.
The 06 and 07 R6 are the same model. We have the same bike.

My problem is my throttle would not snap back shut. I traced the problem down. It was not at the clip on. It was not at the cables. The problem was the mechanism the cables actuate on the throttle bodies for the fly by wire. It moved very slowly back "closed". The butterflys do not open and close with movement of the throttle.
lunchbox101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Throttle Position Sensor Phaeax Bikes + Parts + Gear Wanted 2 06-14-2011 02:17 PM
throttle postion sensor help alexb84 Garage / Mechanical Help 7 03-11-2011 09:51 AM
WTB Throttle Position Sensor for 05 DragonkingR6 Bikes + Parts + Gear Wanted 0 07-16-2010 04:16 PM
Throttle position sensor DaRKon Garage / Mechanical Help 1 01-22-2009 07:03 PM
WTB: Throttle Position Sensor 02 R6 02BLUER6 Bikes Parts For Sale 2 01-18-2007 09:53 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum
R6-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R6-Forum.com is generated by its users and R6-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.