Help with my throttle! : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Community Topics > General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 10:02 AM   #1
tioSammy
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 24
Help with my throttle!

Heys guys the other day i was riding my bike normally, then i stopped and left it there for awhile, when i was ready to go, i turn it on normally and responded but when i tried to acceleratte i would not respond, any suggestions what this could be, i have not actually checked cause i needed to leave, but i think i have time today and if you guys have some suggestions what could it be or from where can i start lookin, it starts normal without any problems, throttle feels like its connected but engine does not respond to the twist
tioSammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2012, 10:05 AM   #2
bluerebel
Sometimes..........
 
bluerebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central Cali.
Posts: 3,348
Bike: 2012 R6
So if you twist the throttle, do the RPMs go up?

I'm assuming its a broken throttle cable.


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
__________________
I dont measure life in dollar bills, I measure life with the joy I get out of it.


bluerebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:08 AM   #3
tioSammy
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 24
Re: Help with my throttle!

no the rpms does not goes up, it also does not feels loose, it feels like cable is connected it just the rpms does not goes up, and all this happen while it was off, it was working perfectly
tioSammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:13 AM   #4
ChiefSmokeDawg
Parts Pimp
 
ChiefSmokeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: JerZ
Posts: 25,310
Bike: 2002 R6, 2008 R6
Re: Help with my throttle!

Is the battery low on voltage? Have you put a voltmeter on it to see that the voltage increases when the bike is running to indicate a healthy charging system. If the Charging system is failing, (stator, etc) and your battery is getting you by, it can get low and when you crack the throttle and it falls on it's face with not enough power fir the igntion.''

What year bike? More general info please too.
__________________
CONTACT/EMAIL ME HERE



My 02 Thread My 08 Thread
RIP BALLISTIK: We miss you Ricky!!!
Ask about:-STAHLBUS- -WOODCRAFT- -MOTUL- -FERODO- -BRAKE TECH- -BMC- -Battery Tender-LEO VINCE- -XT-RACING- -NGK- -SUOMY- -EBC- -Pro-Grip- -Canyon Dancer-
ChiefSmokeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:16 AM   #5
tioSammy
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 24
Re: Help with my throttle!

no, battery is brand new installed it two weeks before start riding it again, is there any electrical cable or chip that can affect this? because throttle did not felt loose, and bike starts just fine but it dont respond to the twist.
tioSammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:16 AM   #6
tioSammy
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 24
Re: Help with my throttle!

2009 R6 yamaha
tioSammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:35 AM   #7
tioSammy
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 24
Re: Help with my throttle!

if it helps for reference, powmmander was also installed, im thinking its probably something regarding that
tioSammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:25 AM   #8
CBR240
Is it Deals Gap time yet?
 
CBR240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Apex NC, USA
Posts: 252
Bike: 2007 R6
Re: Help with my throttle!

I'm pretty sure the 2009 R6 (actually 2006+ R6) use "fly by wire" throttle ("YCC-T = Yamaha Chip Controlled Throttle" in Yamaha speak). There is no direct mechanical connection between the throttle you twist and the butterfly's in the throttle bodies. The throttle cable merely turns the "Throttle position sensor (for throttle cable pulley)". That sensor provides input to the ECU, which then uses the "Throttle servo motor" to actually open the Throttle valves.

So my GUESS is that maybe a Throttle position sensor (for throttle cable pulley) issue. Or wires from TPS to CPU, or CPU to Servo Motor.
CBR240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: (used)Racing Throttle-Quick turn adjustable throttle DanO5150 Bikes Parts For Sale 5 07-18-2012 08:17 AM
Full Throttle 900 rmp idle..Why? ECU? Throttle Body?? Riding Rehab Garage / Mechanical Help 0 10-11-2011 04:15 PM
quick turn throttle / push pull throttle kit ADRENALINE RUSH General Discussions 18 11-13-2008 05:29 PM
Loose Throttle ? Tight Throttle ? minnister How To's... 7 07-26-2007 07:15 AM
need 03' r6 throttle bracket(throttle tube)baddd!! blueboybate Bikes Parts For Sale 0 05-02-2007 10:50 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum