Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals - Page 3 : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Related Discussion > How To's...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 12:21 PM   #21
buzz1560
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals



Its a 20 watt 8 ohm resistor. I'm going to relocate the resisitors due to their weight pulling on the flushmount harness. Probably mount them up on the frame somewhere.
buzz1560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2012, 12:49 PM   #22
gpc0722
Never to old to ride..
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milton, Ont. Canada
Posts: 37
Bike: 2011 Candy Red & Blk R6
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Thanks for the info. this is exactly what I needed
did you hook the load resistor to the black wire and
the other end to where the yellow wire connects
to the other two, in between the diode
gpc0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:20 PM   #23
buzz1560
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals



Yep that's how I wired it up.
buzz1560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:53 PM   #24
gpc0722
Never to old to ride..
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milton, Ont. Canada
Posts: 37
Bike: 2011 Candy Red & Blk R6
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Perfect... Thanks very much for the help...
Cheers
gpc0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 09:22 AM   #25
kingnba6
R1derr
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,521
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Thanks for the awesome how-to.
kingnba6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:11 PM   #26
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Posts: 3
Bike: H-D XR1200 or 94 D21
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

OK, so let's get back onto the subject for a moment.

I want to wire up some diodes on my 2009 Harley Sportster.

Originally, I simply planned to do the relay option, until coming across this post, so big thanks to OP.

That said, I created a little breadboard with an LED, a resistor, and a diode. Connected it, and verified it worked.

I had to make big changes in the wiring diagram, because the Sportster is not quite the same as the R6 (who'd of thought? Anyway...).

The Sportster comes with Filament Bulbs, and LEDs draw much less current. When replacing filament bulbs with LEDs, load resistors have to be included or the Turn Signal Module (TSM) will detect that not enough current was used, and throw a code (i.e. Check Engine light).

I want to keep it that way, meaning I don't really want a Check Engine light; however, if I keep the load resistors in place (as shown in the attachment), they will be burning heat all of the time. I don't want that either.

How could I estimate how much current this circuit uses without the Load Resistors (in red)? Will the diodes use anything noticeable?

The LEDs I have are Rizoma Zero-11, which are rated at 13W.



Basically, I'm looking to answer a couple of questions:
  1. Is there a way to calculate if I'll need the load resistors or not?
  2. Where would load resistors need to be moved to if left on so that the circuit continues to work as it should?

Thanks,
~Joe

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2to3.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	93025  

Last edited by jp2code; 02-03-2013 at 04:01 PM.
jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:25 PM   #27
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Posts: 3
Bike: H-D XR1200 or 94 D21
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

So, I got this to work on my 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster XR1200:

You Tube video demo:

Here is the wiring diagram I ended up going with:



My situation turned out to be a little more involved than the simple schematic the OP showed.
jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:26 PM   #28
adamb
I take my R6 on dates.
 
adamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 590
Bike: 05' R6
Subbed for later, any complains with either method being too hot (hot enough to discolor or melt bodywork). Thanks!


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
adamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:02 AM   #29
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Posts: 3
Bike: H-D XR1200 or 94 D21
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

No complaints from my job!

In fact, as shown in that pic I posted above, I went from having a Load Resistor at each LED Turn Signal (4 in all) to only using a Single Load Resistor. Since I only had 1, I had more flexibility on where to install it. Finding a spot for 4 resistors can be difficult if you don't want them hanging out in the air.
jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is this wire? thunderzy Garage / Mechanical Help 14 01-07-2011 12:45 AM
HELP! how to wire AUDI LED to be running and turn signals! jat5944 How To's... 6 10-19-2010 07:44 PM
HELP: Installing Turn signals, mixed up wire, used wrong fuse. and now nothing works! Notn41 Garage / Mechanical Help 18 08-15-2009 08:11 PM
Fan wire up blacknight99 Garage / Mechanical Help 0 06-15-2008 01:11 AM
3-wire vs. 2-wire blinkers? besheer Appearance and Exterior Mods 11 09-23-2007 12:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum
R6-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R6-Forum.com is generated by its users and R6-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.