Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

Spine Protector

2K views 15 replies 11 participants last post by  copatdi 
#1 ·
Hey I want to know what a good spine protector is and how much it should run me. And if anyone on here has one for sale let me know. I had my first little crash a week ago and it kinda shook me up so I want to invest my money into my safety.

#4 ·
knox, alpinestar, technic, dianese are all good brands for back protectors.

i have no experience with icon and frankly don't plan on it after seeing some of their products quality, who knows maybe they have gotten their head screwed on straight and pumped out some good stuff.

there is also bohn which i dont like because they were known to copy knox's designs.

pricing: anywhere from 150 from your basic spine/tailbone protector to 250ish for the nice knox contour protector. regardless of what you get, you want to make sure that there are enough plates to cover your back, there are plenty of size charts that give you a range. also, if you get a spine protector, it'll take a few wears to break in just like anything else. so it may feel like your wearing a wooden board the first time, but after a while it'll feel like a part of your back.

#6 ·
i was planning on taking the small back pad out of my jacket (which is an alpinestars leather jacket) and just wearing the protector under it. I found this one http://www.helmetsandapparel.com/p-acerbis-protector-back-7-ave-27020103-10000202.php and it seems pretty good. I looked at some of the other companies and I didnt like the look of them, i felt lik they werent as protective. But then again Im not really educated in spine protectors.

#11 ·