Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

Track noob post

3K views 21 replies 14 participants last post by  R-Silaxin 
#1 ·
So I'm really excited to hit the tracks this coming spring. I have away too many mods on my bike to fit my skill set though so I'm kinda worked about dumping it. Ive been riding for 2 years and i feel like i can handle the bike alright but street riding doesnt mean shit. Would you guys recommend tank sliders for the first day? Also do you all run insurance on your track bikes? I'm low on cash so I'm tryin to see what all is necessary (obviously I understand it's all good to have). I have the basic sliders and spools.

Also one of my friends tracks his CBR and he recommended taping off the tach so you can only see your power band and to always keep the RPM in that range. Good advice? Any other tips or tricks for a track noob? I've read countless threads on technique and all that shit.

Sorry for noob postin it up in here.

#3 ·
:wave

Welcome

Just getting into it myself... Been To a few TD's, and a race weekend. It's been a blast so far.

As for your questions, protecting The bike is ideal. I.E. Frame sliders(some use some dont), tank sliders, engine case covers, etc. At some point, you will go down... So protect the bike for longevity... Beginner group at any new track is ideal for you to learn The track at a slow pace... They Will bump you when THEY see fit. Also, insurance is your call. Not necessary for a track bike though. Save that money towards tires, trackdays, and seat time. Those three things are what you need most. Especially seat time!

:cheers

#4 ·