Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

leaning the bike?

4K views 29 replies 22 participants last post by  69z28lt1 
#1 · (Edited)
Anyone have any tips on leaning, on a turn.. I am too chicken shit. Faster u go the harder you lean? I notice my turns are wide on the freeways.. Kind of scared me on a right turn on carpool I was running over the reflectors on the left making a right curve.

i'm a noob.. looking for tips..

plus how long does it takes to get use to a bike In miles?

#4 ·
OCboy03R6 said:
best tip i can give you is take the motorcycle course because you would know how to take a turn :fact

smoothness is the right word. I know if u turn the bars on highspeeds.. U will get tossed off. I guess it comes with pratice..

As for the course.. i heard it is common sense pratice with technical word like highside an lowside, and powerslide.. what do they mean anyway?

I am going to take the corse though.. After i am done with school. Because i work weekends; no time..

I would lean more but I would like to do it on a old bike.. U know what i mean..

#5 ·
really the best bet would be to get some reading material. It has done wonders for my riding ability. The msf course will help, but I feel it is way overrated compared to reading material centered on sportbikes like ours. So look up Keith Codes a Twist of the Wrist or Total Control by Lee Parks. Both have helped me a lot in my riding, and any emergency stuff like changes in turns or dumb cagers comming in front of me. There are other books out there too, and most will help.

#6 ·