Diagnostic Scanner/Reader... : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Community Topics > General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2008, 08:37 PM   #1
trninhds
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Diagnostic Scanner/Reader...

Hey Guys,

This may be a dumb question but I would assume one can use a Diagnostic Tool, i.e. a ODBII scanner to pull the code off of the ECU right? Or is there a specific yamaha tool which only a dealer has. Just wondering since my check engine light just came on and I'm trying to figure what code is it throwing. Ive been having idle problems lately...I've read this may be due to the PCIII i have and not having the correct maps. Thoughts anyone???
trninhds is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2008, 08:41 PM   #2
lunchbox101
I eat my R6
 
lunchbox101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 1,379
Re: Diagnostic Scanner/Reader...

turn off your bike and turn on the ignition. the number should be toward the bottom left on the lcd...

and i THINK you hold both buttons and turn the ignition to get in diagnostic mode...not positive
lunchbox101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 08:50 PM   #3
blue03r6
doing your fat girlfriend
 
blue03r6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 7,329
Bike: 03 R6
Images: 2
Re: Diagnostic Scanner/Reader...

the bike has a built in diagnostic scanner already..YaY Yamaha!
download the service manual. it shows you how to check them and what they mean. also you can check all of the circuits too.
why cars don't have this feature is beyond me.
http://www.r6messagenet.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=39254
blue03r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 09:39 PM   #4
trninhds
My R6 eats me.
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Re: Diagnostic Scanner/Reader...

thanks for the quick responses guys, very helpful. Now to figure out the problem. I guess the only upside is that its winter and i cant ride now anyways...
trninhds is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help w/ engine code MARKo Garage / Mechanical Help 19 01-21-2010 09:44 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum
R6-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R6-Forum.com is generated by its users and R6-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.