Downshifting and rev matching? : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Related Discussion > Garage / Mechanical Help

Old 04-08-2009, 08:46 PM   #1
Tattooed4Life
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!

Bike: 2003 Silver/Black R6
Send a message via MSN to Tattooed4Life
Downshifting and rev matching?

Hey guys im kinda new to the r6, im just wondering if when I downshift I should rev match or is it fine to just very slowly let the clutch out after downshifting?
Also when approaching a stop, instead of downshifting can i just pop the bike in neutral, or will this have adverse effects on the bike?
Thanks!!
Scotts Damper
Power Commander USB (PCIII USB)
HID Lights
Zero Gravity Double Bubble screen
Mirrors with integrated turn signals
Pazzo Racing levers
Tattooed4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-08-2009, 08:55 PM   #2
Loopus
Torn apart from my bike

Bike: 2009 R6
Re: Downshifting and rev matching?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tattooed4Life View Post
Hey guys im kinda new to the r6, im just wondering if when I downshift I should rev match or is it fine to just very slowly let the clutch out after downshifting?
Also when approaching a stop, instead of downshifting can i just pop the bike in neutral, or will this have adverse effects on the bike?
Thanks!!

Bikes are made to do whatever u wanna do with em. U dont need to really watch the rpms while down shifting unless ur pegging the tach ind in 3rd and wanting to go to second for some weird reason.. but if your slowing down from regular riding then i usually just listen to the bike sound and go with the flow.