Slipper vs. non-slipper clutch? - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
I eat my R6

Slipper vs. non-slipper clutch?

Well let me just start off by mentioning that I have never ridden a bike with a slipper clutch so I have no first-hand experience with them. In fact, the only bike I have ever ridden is my '05 R6. I just did my 3rd trackday this past weekend and I am definitely getting better and more confident out there. I was consistently downshifting to 2nd gear for corners that on my other 2 previous ocassions I would always take in 3rd gear. Needless to say, this involved alot of rev-matching while under heavy braking, which I have been practicing on the streets as well lately. I never used to do brake and rev-match at the same time before until recently, but now its like 2nd nature and now can't imagine not doing it while setting up for corner entry primarily on the track but on the street as well too. I was gearing down fairly aggressively too with the rear end getting squirrely on a few instances, which has me wanting to start practicing "backing it in".

With that said, it has me wondering at how aggressive downshifting feels on a bike with a slipper clutch. Is it alot harder or virtually impossible to get the back end to come around a bit? I'm not sure I would even prefer a bike with a slipper. It would be nice though to be able to switch the feature off, kinda like whats available with the 370z Nissan's synchro-rev match feature. What are your thoughts on this? Does it detract from the overall rider involvement at all?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 10:11 PM
Make good choices.

Bike: R6, SV, KTM300, Tiger 800
Re: Slipper vs. non-slipper clutch?

I rarely ever feel the clutch slip on mine when on track because I rev match on every down shift.