Does a 2006 R6 make a good frist bike?? - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 58 (permalink) Old 08-29-2006, 11:40 AM Thread Starter

Does a 2006 R6 make a good frist bike??

Hey guys,

For the past few months I have been looking at getting in to riding. I have read tons and tons of information but still have no experience of riding. I know I want to get into a sports bike and of course am very impressed by the R6. I have been told mixed things about getting a 600 cc bike as a first bike. Some say its all about how you ride it other say its too much power no matter what. I wanted to ask your opinion on a total beginner getting a R6 as a first bike. Personality wise whether that matters or not, I am very level headed. What do you guys think?

Oh yea this bike would be for street only at first of course since I will be learning. But with time I might go to the track...maybe. I am a total rookie right now so its hard to predict anything.

DiscoNomad

Last edited by DiscoNomad; 08-29-2006 at 11:43 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 58 (permalink) Old 08-29-2006, 12:17 PM

I'll say what everyone else will eventually. If you've got little to no experience riding motorcycles, the R6 would be a horrible choice. Most boards I have read suggest starting on a 500c or less. I can't remember many of the model names but i read a lot about the Ninja 250. It's fun, sporty, and you can screw up with out killing yourself.

Also, i'm told that the R6 is not super comfortable for longer rides and is super sensitive to finicky moments like throttle blips and horrible "bouncy" turns. Reason I say told, I am in the process of procuring an R6. I've ridden a couple other bikes for enough time...
post #3 of 58 (permalink) Old 08-29-2006, 12:25 PM