Yamaha r6 leak around kick stand - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-23-2019, 03:47 PM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.

Yamaha r6 leak around kick stand

Hi guys , I’m new to the bike world , i recently purchased a used 06 Yamaha r6 i got the spark plugs done and the valves adjusted when i purchased it. It has 24k miles. Recently i have noticed a small puddle in my garage it seems like it’s oil but might be mixed with something else since it doesn’t have the strong oil Odor. This bike is mostly stock other then sprocket , and m4 slip on exhaust . For starters i should remove all the fairings to help investigate anyone have any idea what this might be ? Has something like this been herd of ? Thanks in advanced .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-24-2019, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.

Re: Yamaha r6 leak around kick stand

To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
here is a photo no signs of oil on the other side ,

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-24-2019, 05:10 PM
I eat my R6

Bike: 2008 Yamaha YZF-R6s Stock

Had drip coming from a similar spot for a couple of weeks but disappeared on its own. Never bothered to trace it down. I use motor oil on the chain so there's a lot of junk around there anyway. It would never drip in my presence. Similar to your experiences, I'd come back after a run to find a a quarter and some change max, sized drip spot beneath the kickstand.

To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

From a search, it looks like some people are pointing at the drive axle oil seal. (drive sprocket attaches to it)

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-25-2019, 01:30 PM
#KeepPounding

Bike: 2007 R6