Starting to love my R6 - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
I eat my R6

Starting to love my R6

I started riding it consistently this spring when the weather became reasonable. The OEM clipons were killing me so put 0 degree helibars on which helped amazingly. The daily commute stop-and-go has been so consistent a task that the ride I had today out in the sticks was something of a revelation; I spent 3 hours out trying to get lost in the back roads, didn't achieve that but I went on a bunch of new roads and got the treat of the bike's handling as I could put together corners and so on without the godforsaken traffic interrupting everything. Got the road head going, just digging the ride followed by a quick highway blast home and fell in love when the torque hit while scrambling out onto the highway past the entrance ramp slowpokes... just have to remember to go down 2 gears so as to not wait for rpm to build...

Its so much easier to steer than my old Bandit, which was a heavy handling sort of ride- the R6 is like a feather. The Bandit liked a well-defined turn point so the steering input could be timed and put in as a strong, definite motion. The R6 steers so easily and lightly all the old Bandit steering methods are hamfisted, have to evolve the whole turnpoint approach for this bike. OTOH I really grew to dislike the front brake feel now that I had the chance to use them in a more nuanced fashion- going to do a full teardown and cleaning with new pads right away. The Bandit loved vesrah pads so I'll put a set of them on. I flushed all the brakes in the spring, the pads still have a bit of wear to go so I was inclined to defer the full overhaul till the fall but this wooden grabby response is just nasty.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 03:55 AM
I eat my R6

Bike: 2015 R1
Garage
Re: Starting to love my R6