Questions after exhaust change - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!

Questions after exhaust change

I'm pretty new with sport bikes so please have understanding if these are dumb paranoid questions.

My 2006 R6 had an idle issue where the rpm would bounce on cold start. The problem was the exhaust that had no muffler so I put on a stock exhaust few days ago and the problem stopped. But here are my concerns.

First, the new gaskets I got were a bit flatter than the stock ones and since my stock ones looked fine I decided to go with the old stock ones. When I fired up the bike I could se smoke coming from the area where the header meet the cylinder for a couple of seconds and then it disappeared and I haven't seen it since. I don't feel any air coming out when I hold my hand there. Is that normal?

Also, I hear this ticking sound that I haven't heard before, it could simply be because the bike was too damn loud before. A lot of other threads say its just the "Yamaha ticking sound" but someone also said it could be a leak. So my question is, does it sound like I have a leak? The bike runs perfectly otherwise.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 06:14 PM

Garage
So the ticking in my opinion was always there based on the info you have provided, you just couldnt hear it before you put the stock exhaust on. Yamatick is a real thing.

I would never personally reuse an exhaust gasket, nor would i recommend it.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 06:16 PM
I eat my R6

Bike: 2015 R1
Garage
It's impossible for us to know without seeing and hearing it. But first, Yamaha r6 and r1 engine has a lot of valvetrain noise. It's normal.