Fuel cut at 11k? - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 03:13 PM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.

Fuel cut at 11k?

2003 r6 45,000 miles

So I just scooped up this 03 r6. Runs great except that it seems to fall flat on its face at 11k. Its the same for every gear. The fuel pump is pretty load when I turn the key. Is there a way to test fuel pump pressure. I am a mechanic for cars but not much experience on bikes. I'm willing to try other things as well.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 01:01 PM
I eat my R6

Bike: 2015 R1
Garage
Re: Fuel cut at 11k?

yes but you'll have to buy the adapter to go inline with the fuel hose to the pump. part # 90890-03176
YM-03176 output pressure is 42.6 psi
official Yamaha tool supplier,
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

alternative source,

To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

and no, harbor freight's fuel injection test kit doesn't have what you need. already been down that road lol

Last edited by yamahacrazy; 04-13-2019 at 01:08 PM.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.

Hey thanks for that. Too bad it's not just a hook up that I could test like a car. I guess that I may try a new fuel pump. I can't think of anything else. It sorta stumbles at the lower rpms sometimes. It just screams pump at me if it were a car. Well thanks I'll post back if that fixes it.

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 04:44 AM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.