Putting the knee down - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
I hate you Turn 4!

Bike: 09 Orca
Putting the knee down

Well Oct 2nd was my last track day. And it was a blast. After two instructor groups I felt good enough on the bike and knew the line well enough to go it alone. Well I ended up getting my knee down twice and it freaked the hell out of me both times. I didn't think I was far enough over when it happened. What tips or trick do you guys have for judging when you’re far enough to put your knee down? And how do you react to it? I'm a newbie on the track and now just waiting till next year.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 12:49 PM
OMRRA #79

Bike: R6
Re: Putting the knee down

My biggest tip is to just stop thinking about it! If your are just out trying to get a knee down and thats what your are thinking about thats a recipe for disaster! You have way to many things to think about to be worried about trying to get off the bike or OVER lean into a corner. Just do what feals natural and all of a sudden you wont be able to get your knee off the ground and you will be pissed at the fact your are having to buy knee pucks every trackday!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
I hate you Turn 4!

Bike: 09 Orca