Does anybody NOT get sore from doing track days? - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-31-2011, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Meh

Bike: 05 R6, and other stuff
Does anybody NOT get sore from doing track days?

I had an absolutely awesome day at Streets of Willow yesterday - felt really good on the bike and was pushing hard (for me) and was out there for all but one session - but holy hell am I beat up today. Quads, hips, shoulders, lower back, neck, calves, forearms all have some amount of soreness. I can't imagine signing up for a whole weekend and having to do another full day the way I feel today.

I'm pretty new to the track riding thing. This was my 5th track day, but my first one was the end of this February, all with varying levels of next-day soreness. Today is definitely the worst. I exercise a decent amount, but I'm not super disciplined about it.

Is my sore ass par for the course, or am I in terrible shape and need to start hitting the gym a few more times a week?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-31-2011, 09:01 PM
I gotta ride!

Bike: 05 R6 Raven
Re: Does anybody NOT get sore from doing track days?

I did 2 days at Willow 2.5, and a 1 day last year. Being sore is a matter of using muscles your not used to using.... If you ride tense, your gonna be hurtting even more. Try to relax a little more on the bike. I ride dirt as well as wakeboard and being sore is just a part of it.... I was taught a while ago, just relax and ride. Hard to do when your banging gears and dragging knees but it does help.

05 R6 Raven
520 -1+3 conversion
gpr
gytr shorty
power comander
sliders
speedo healer
graves block off plates
woodcraft case cover

had led's, flush mounts, fender elimator, and yosh trs but stripped for the track now!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-31-2011, 09:02 PM