How fast/long should you ride in 1st gear? - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2011, 06:18 AM Thread Starter
1st Gens Unite!

Bike: 2002 R6
How fast/long should you ride in 1st gear?

So I'm pretty new to riding sportbikes so dont give me too much of a hard time. I was curious since our bikes are happy in that 10-12 thousand rpm range, how fast or how long should you ride in first gear, second gear, and so on?

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Motorcycle App

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2011, 06:21 AM
Lifetime Premium

Bike: 2007 R6
Re: How fast/long should you ride in 1st gear?

It's very different for every situation. In yours, being that you are new to sportbikes.. I'd safe as far as you are comfortable...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2011, 06:30 AM Thread Starter
1st Gens Unite!

Bike: 2002 R6
I usually keep mine around 8-10 thousand rpm. The reason I asked is because A guy at the dealership told me that the newer bikes can get to 80-100 mph in first and i kinda dont believe him.

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2011, 06:43 AM
TKB
I eat my R6

Bike: 2007 R6S

Quote:
Originally Posted by @R6ixx View Post
I usually keep mine around 8-10 thousand rpm. The reason I asked is because A guy at the dealership told me that the newer bikes can get to 80-100 mph in first and i kinda dont believe him.

All depends on how your bike is geared. Twist the throttle in first until you hit redline, that's how fast you can go in first. But be careful, it will pick up the front wheel at wide open throttle in first.
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2011, 07:30 AM
www.1seven1.com

As long as you can stand the sound of you flogging your motor.