1st track day prep - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
My R6 ate me

Bike: 2000 R6 TRACK ONLY
1st track day prep

so im going down to barber in march for my second track day. last time i was on the street bike put a new set of rubber in and went. now i have sold that and have a track only bike. im new to all of this and not really sure what needs to be done. tire choice im only gonna be on the track 3 or 4 times a year do i need to buy take offs and trash them after or will a good set last and be ok sitting in the garage tire size what are all the advantages and disadvantages in the 180/55 180/50 and the 190s tire pressure what do i need to run and how does it effect riding? oil oil filter the list goes on not looking to break the bank just looking to have fun. tips and hints anything and everything is appreciated. thanks in advance

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 03:05 PM
Parts Pimp

Bike: 2002 R6, 2008 R6
Re: 1st track day prep

sick bro. Post pics of the track bike.

Just get some good street/track tires and go bro. 2cts, pirelli supercorsa SP's, Dunlop Q2's, etc..

Unless you're a fast rider, they are good up to and thru intermediate pace for most people.

If I bought a track bike, I would bring it to the shop I goto and have them go over the bike completely. You have no clue the amount of bullshit rubber banded and half-assed fixes we all have found on the track bikes in our group of riders!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Ask about:-STAHLBUS- -WOODCRAFT- -MOTUL- -FERODO- -BRAKE TECH- -BMC- -Battery Tender-LEO VINCE- -NGK- -EBC- -
-
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 03:26 PM
I hate you Turn 4!

Bike: 09 Orca

Quote: