Close call yesterday - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-02-2012, 06:31 AM Thread Starter
I eat my R6

Bike: 2009 Yamaha R1
Close call yesterday

Ive been riding for about 10 months now. I currently go out to the country where they have pretty smooth turnpike like turns and very little cars. I've noticed in the passed few months I have began to feel more confortable leaning the bike. While in a midturn lean I manage to go over a bump. I can only guess as I try to decribe the rear wheel getting air, the bike going upright, and I am going towards the shoulder. I managed to not panic and save it at last minute. Is there any reccomeondations someone would make in terms of identifying bumps on roads? or how to handle situations like this better? I was not using excessive speed but still would like to understand situations such as this and try to better learn from them.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-02-2012, 06:36 AM
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!

Bike: 2003 R6
Re: Close call yesterday

you did the best thing you could do in that situation as it came up yesterday and didn't panic.

as for the recognizing it the best thing you can do is just learn the road if you are on it frequently and memorize. Sometimes a bump will look the same as a flat spot and sneak up on you.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-02-2012, 10:57 AM
When in doubtThrottle out

Bike: Zuma

Make sure your suspension is setup properly for you. The best thing that can be done is to have it tuned so your tires maintain good contact.

Sold: 2009 YZF-R6
Given to the ex-bitch, I mean wife: 2010 Ninja 250

MCRA/CCS#81

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorv
I was wrong.
Quote taken 7-16-15 @ 0640CDT

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-02-2012, 11:01 AM
Parts Pimp

Bike: 2002 R6, 2008 R6

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercenary View Post