Socal Track Questions - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-09-2012, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium

Bike: 2012 Yamaha Blue R6
Socal Track Questions

I know these are questions that I could just call the local track for but im going to ask them anyways just so I can be prepaired for when I do go.

I live in Oceanside Ca and have always wanted to go to the track. I have been riding for four years now and really want the experience of a track where I can use my bike for what it was made for.

What kind of riding gear do I need?

What do I need to do to my bike to prep for the track?

What kind of costs are involved i.e. insurance entry fee's, and track time.

Thank you in advance. Gotta be able to justify it with the wife.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-09-2012, 11:51 AM
Yoga Pants Connoisseur

Bike: Kobe XI
Re: Socal Track Questions

For the most part, most track day schools "SHOULD" be the same.

Down here in Texas, you need helmet, suit (1pc or 2pc), boots, and over the wrist gloves.

For the bike, you need to tape up your head lights, brake lights, turn signals and basically any piece of glass on your bike. You can tape up your mirror or remove them, removing them is easier, imo.

Costs are usually just a one time fee for that day but I know some track day schools charge a membership fee of some sort. Not to mention you have to account for extra costs such as drinks, snacks, gas, track day supplies, etc.

Hope this helps
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-09-2012, 12:27 PM
Meh

Bike: 05 R6, and other stuff

^ Pretty much nailed it.