First Time Track Day Rider's Rule Book! - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 111 (permalink) Old 09-06-2012, 01:00 PM Thread Starter
R stands for RaceBike

Bike: 2009 R6
First Time Track Day Rider's Rule Book!

This Thread is for the noobies (i'm no pro), There is tons and tons of info that can be shared to help the new track riders have a good first Td. The things i am going to go over are the basic EVERYONE should know while out on a track!

I've notice there alot of Us that go to the track expecting to rip around like a boss and end up crashing on our First TD. I want to put this together to reduce the number of riders going down, That should keep your bike and, most importantly, you driving home at the end of the day in one peice! thats the goal anyways right?

This list should grow I do Not know EVERYTHING i want other peoples Inputs add your "Rule's" We all want to get fast this thread is here to help you pick up the pace SAFELY.

Rule #1 You are NOT out to set world record lap times, you are NOT out there to Go fast, you ARE out there to learn how to become a better rider, and in time your pace will pick up, but the safe way!

Rule #2 You are out there to LEARN, Soak up all the info you can from instructors and more advanced riders. Not all info is good info, Just because you have a buddy out there that is fast doesnt mean his is doing everything right.

Rule #3 take the first couple sessions to learn the track, learn the race line, Learn your breaking points,Practice being SMOOTH