The mental game - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-10-2013, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium

Bike: 07R6, 16RSV4
The mental game

OK weird topic day today. I'm bored so bare with me.

I believe most of us can agree that riding a motorcycle fast is as mental (if not more than) it is a physical challenge.

We see motoGP riders (namely marquez) crash at a free practice and go out again 5 minutes later to break lap records.

How do they do it?

How do you do it?

I personally have crashed only twice in 2 years of pure track riding history. After my crash, 2-3 following track days I've done were complete disaster. I wasn't able to lean at all. I was suuuper slow. It really mind *****ed me. At that point I was a complete noob too so that didn't help.

Second crash was recent. 1st trackday after the crash was a wash. I was really slow. 2nd started really bad too. Saturday my best was 10 secs down on my personal best. But Sunday I got down to 5 secs within.

Still not good enough. But I found that the best way in this situation is just throwing yourself in more and more practice to get over it as fast as you can.

REALIZING that it's 99% in your head helps a lot. I could've blamed the bike or just chalk it up as a "ehhh not my day today" but I realized I was just being a p*ssy and tried to push myself a bit harder...

Don't get me wrong I'm still a major p*ssy
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

But how do you approach post crash riding? How do you get over it and go just as fast as you were. Do you slow down at all after a crash? Or are you like Marquez? Get annoyed and go even faster.

To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-10-2013, 05:47 PM
Make good choices.

Bike: R6, SV, KTM300, Tiger 800