First track day tips? - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 01:36 PM Thread Starter
I eat my R6

Bike: 2006 R6 50th Anniversary
First track day tips?

Hello everyone,

I will be doing my first track day this season at Grattan Raceway in Mi. I was looking for some tips or pointers to help me out. Ive been riding my R6 for a few years now and riding motorcycles for quite some time. Obviously this doesn't mean I'm awesome (because I am not
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
) I was just seeking out some tips from the community. Thanks a lot guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 01:38 PM
Official Noob Greeter

Bike: stupid ones and a Prius
Re: First track day tips?

My best tip, dont crash.
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 01:38 PM
Official Noob Greeter

And do the sighting laps. And take it easy, live to fight another day.

post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 01:49 PM
Outlaws Justice was Here

Bike: Yamaha FZ1, Yamaha Vmax.

Take a class first. I did my first track day in 2006 in N.H. , three weeks after taking the Total Control Class in NY. Was the best thing I ever did, I was on the track with a little 500 ninja (Smallest bike there) never been to a track before, and I had a ball, I was passing everyone on the track pretty much, since I did not have to spend time learning how to get proper body position, how to choose good lines. etc. I could focus on learning the track, brake points, etc. I actually got a racing license that weekend just to get the extra track time.

My Second Track day in 2009 at Pocono, making an outside pass on an r-6 with the little 1984 Honda 500!

To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David
Total Control Instructor