brake levers mushy - track day - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-01-2014, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!

Bike: 2007 R6
Question brake levers mushy - track day

hey i am new to track days, done three weekends totally
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. In my last track day I noticed that I couldn't brake with two fingers, my levers went closer to my throttle bar . My rest of the fingers were sandwiched between the levers and the throttle . Is some thing wrong with my brakes fluid ? Is it usual that the brake will become mushy after couple of sessions ?
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-01-2014, 04:59 PM
scared of big tracks

Bike: 07 R6, 09 R1
Re: brake levers mushy - track day

Upgrade your break lines. That will help with fade. Change out the brake fluid until then and make sure you get all the air bubbles out. Don't forget about bleeding the master cylinder as well, not just the calipers.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-01-2014, 05:09 PM
"The Dude abides .. "

Bike: 2008 yamaha R6 - 2 bikes

what he said.. start with a good fluid bleed. Chances are your fluid is quite old, and has attracted a reasonable amount of water. I change fluid every few months (racing). There is no need for expensive, fancy brake fluid on an R6. I use stock Dot4 fluid, right off the dealership shelf. DO NOT mix dot 5 with dot 4. Just stick with dot 4.