Need Corner help - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-01-2015, 10:45 AM Thread Starter
I eat my R6

Bike: 03 R6
Need Corner help

Ok so I dunno what it is, but I dont seem to be improving. Kinda keeping constant slow speed through corners. I get a little bit better on the track but im still basically at the very back of the slow group. I seem to always let of the throttle during the corner. Something always never feels right. especially on publics roads, either I dont trust me or the tyres to go faster. Im generally onl about 10-20km/h over the recommended corner speed signs. I especially have trouble with slow corners

Ive been riding for two years and my tyres have done two track days but still have plenty of tread left.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-01-2015, 12:22 PM
Pastor of Muppets

Bike: 09 R6, 07 R6S, 05 WR250F
Re: Need Corner help

Most of it is probably in your head. Rolling off the throttle mid turn is one of the worst things you can do. It will upset the suspension and make you feel even less in control. You should buy Keith Code's Twist of the Wrist II and read it cover to cover. Don't worry about being slow or fast, worry about being smooth, confident and in control.

Combined with reading that, you should evaluate your tire pressures and suspension set up. Having tire pressures that are way off or suspension that is not compliant will really degrade the performance of the bike and will contribute to you not being comfortable on the bike.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-01-2015, 05:45 PM
scared of big tracks

Bike: 07 R6, 09 R1

Do more trackdays with organizations that do classroom time for track noobs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.