Tires for Dedicated Track Bike - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-19-2007, 12:40 AM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.

Bike: 2007 MV Agusta F4 R312
Tires for Dedicated Track Bike

Hi, I'm new to the track but I've just invested in a dedicated track bike. What tires do you guys recommend? The tires are for practice and not racing.

I've read that Supercorsa Pros and Power Races are good choices, but I'm wondering, since it's for a dedicated track bike, should I go with slicks? If so, what's a good slick?

I just want the right tire for me (track beginner). I'm also worried about heat cycles for slicks. Heard they don't work as well after several heat cycles, which as a practice tire may be a problem.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-19-2007, 11:07 AM
I eat my R6

Re: Tires for Dedicated Track Bike

just run a dot race tire, theres a good amount of ppl that race and run race tires over slicks. you really cant go wrong with any of dunlops, bridgestone, pirelli or michelins...it just comes down to price and how easy they are to get
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-19-2007, 08:14 PM
Dragging Knee

Bike: Blue 2006 R6
Send a message via AIM to mojo

If you are just getting started on the track I would recommend trying the Bridgestone BT002 RS. It is designed to be a trackday tire with long wear characteristics and has the same tire profile as the BT002 pros. The grip is excellent and the tires provide superb feedback when they are on the edge of traction.

Blue because it is faster.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-19-2007, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.

Bike: 2007 MV Agusta F4 R312

Thanks! Will be going with the BT002s.
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-20-2007, 01:07 PM