First Track Day!!! - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 03-01-2008, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
Just made this great wheelie.. did you see it?!

Bike: '07 R6
First Track Day!!!

Ok so for my 30th birthday a friend and I will be doing a track day at California Speedway on March 30th. I am pretty excited and nervous at the same time. I will be takin my 07 R6. I have been riding for just under 10 years and started with a bandit 600, then went to an FZR600r, and now the
R6. I have ridden some local canyon roads pretty aggressively and have had some close calls with idiot motorists. Luckily I have never went down. What experiences have any of you had with track days? What are the chances of going down? What should I expect? I know the bike is made for the track. Any tips or pointers? I hope this doesn't turn into an addiction.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 03-01-2008, 11:08 PM
CARS SUCK

Re: First Track Day!!!

Congrtatulations
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I like your careful progression with your bikes. If you are
as cautious on the track as you have been on the street, you will
do fine. On average, there are over half a dozen bikes that go down at Cali Speedway each day. It's happened to me. The key to bringing home your bike as shiny as it went to trackday is between the ears. Never ride over your head. If you catch yourself grabbing at the controls before a corner, or things are coming at you too fast, back it off a notch. You will be going much faster at the end of the day if you take your time and don't force going fast early. The speed will come if you are relaxed.

Expect to be nervous. Expect to go faster than you ever have.
Expect to be addicted.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.