This Kitty has decided to take it to the track and needs tips/advice/suggestions... - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 08:58 AM Thread Starter

This Kitty has decided to take it to the track and needs tips/advice/suggestions...

I'm a newbie rider. All my seat time has been on the street. I've been to a few track days strictly as a spectator/cheerleader and have now decided that I want to give it a try...why not right?

But...I am super nervous and excited all at the same time. So, I was wondering if anyone out there would be willing to give this girlie some tips, advice, pointers, etc that will help me get started and calm my nerves.

I know riding on the track is very technical and nothing like being on the street...I'm familiar with apexs, lines...hmmm....I think....but am definately totally oblivious about technique.....I know I won't be the female version of Rossi but I want to atleast give it a shot and not get f'ed up on the first session.......now that would suck!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 09:08 AM
Yamaha Blue in any color

Bike: FZR-1K, R1, Vmax, R6
Re: This Kitty has decided to take it to the track and needs tips/advice/suggestions.

Most track organizations that I know of (NESBA, Cornerspeed) have mandatory classroom time, followed by on track instruction geared to get you into safe and proper track techniques.

Before signing up, I'd recommend reading "Motorcycle Track Day Handbook" by Kent Larson, and "A Twist of The Wrist" by Keith Code. These are two excellent books that will teach you some of the basics of prepping for, and participating in track days.

Welcome to the R6-Forum as well!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Dan

CCS #598
91 FZR 1000
04 YZF-R1