what is speed shifting and how, or should I do it? - Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-25-2009, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
My R6 eats me.

what is speed shifting and how, or should I do it?

just read a forum and they mentioned speed shifting a few times. from what I gater its just pushing the shift lever to shift without the clutch. But how dose that work and should it be done?
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
They also said something about a clutch that came in the 06+ gsxr that is made to do it.

anyway any help would be awesome. (keep in mind im still a noob rider)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-25-2009, 08:13 PM
Phi Phi K A

Bike: 2007 Candy Red R6
Re: what is speed shifting and how, or should I do it?

Yes. Shifting without the clutch. And yes, its fine. But DO NOT down shift without the clutch. That is bad mmmkay. Clutchless shifting is used at the track. It takes a little practice. It is not neccessary for the street.

Speed, it seems to me, provides the one genuinely modern pleasure.

Aldous Huxley 1894-1963

Love me or hate me.
Either way it's an obsession.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 12:43 AM
Intermediate Knee Dragger

Bike: 2009 TU250

The 06+ GSXR 600/750 have a slipper clutch. It does not have anything to do whatsoever with clutchless shifting. It allows you to be a little sloppy with your rev matching while downshifting, though they can still be locked up (personally tested... Oopsy.) All motorcycles can shift without the clutch fairly easily, though it is easier on some than others. For anything with a chain final drive it is dead simple.