Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Listen, I know the fairings are different, but just HOW different?
I don't have an 06 bike handy to compare, but how different are the Upper Left and Upper Right fairings? Do you think they can be modded to work?

Or are there any race fairings that look like the 06-07 stock fairings?

·
Registered
291 Posts
Good luck.... I'm not an expert by any means but that looks to be like putting an 1995 Ford Mustang Fender on a 2010 Ford Mustang.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ha yeah I know. I'm starting to think the only hope is a race fairing set that looks similar but even then I don't know

·
Registered
27 Posts
Hey dude Ive seen an 03 r6 for sale on craigslist with 06 fairnings, it definetely can be done, im sure they used alot of bondo and cut the plastics but you can do it for sure. the hole patterns arent that much different, and with bondo, anything can be shaped and made if needed.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Roman, that is some of the best news I've heard today. You don't have a link to that listing so I can get ahold of the owner? Or is it too old?

·
Registered
391 Posts
Yes, it can be done but will it be worth it at the end? How good are you with molding bondo, plastic, fiberglass? It will be a good project but to me I wouldn't waste my time. Good luck!

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'm a glutten for punishment and looking for a winter project. Now I just need to find a left and right side pretty cheap. Anyone have a beat up set?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I'll have to look at that tutorial, I actually thought the tail would be the hardest. Honestly I was only looking to do the sides, will I also have to do the front end?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·