Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Zoom
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. My name is Joe, and I just picked up a 2005 r6. I have been looking around at bikes for a couple years but seeing as I am 21 I had to save some money. That being said. I don't think I am new to the sport bike game at all. I have ridden dirt bikes all my life, so I understand how to ride.

The first thing I think I am going to do...aside from ordering my helmet...is to put frame sliders on. I was looking at the motovation no cuts. The main reason I was looking at these is becuase I am new to any cosmetic cutting. I wouldn't want to mess that up and have to buy a new fairing as if I had been down. I noticed that a lot of people recommend against no cuts. I did see that some people are sticking up for the exact ones I was going to pick up.

This is my first sportbike, and I plan to do a lot of customization by myself in order to learn. I was also curious about an undertail. I am kind of a perfectionsit, so I hate the liscense tag. I see a lot of people mount them further forward in the whell well. I was wondering if there is ever an issue with the hugger hitting the plate doing this. I was also looking at getting the hotbodies undertail with the built in LED turn signals. Someone recommended going with the clear alternatives integrated kit and a fender eliminator. My original plan was to only use integrated turn signals, but I don't want the liscense plate hanging off the back and I don't want holes in the undertail. Mounting on the swingarm is also a possiblility.