Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’ve been riding my R6 for a few years now and I’m used to the heavy engine braking that comes when you close the throttle all the way. Just the other day I noticed that the RPMS tend to “hang” when I close the throttle. If I rev It to 7k for example and let go of throttle it typically would slow rapidly back down to idle. HOWEVER as of yesterday when I rev up the bike the rpms hang for a split second longer than usual and take a noticeable amount of time to return to idle and the bike kinda coasts a lot farther than it ever would before. My throttle and cable is free and there’s nothing amiss there, I checked operation a couple of times and it snaps closed nicely. I’m thinking I may need to perform a leak down test because most of the research I’ve done pushes me towards a lean air/fuel mix. But I’m hoping someone with a little more mechanical experience could help me save some money, time and frustration. Another puzzling aspect of this issue is that after messing with it for awhile I’ve noticed that the issue isn’t there in neutral???? I can Rev the bike up and rpms drop normally, it’s only when the bike is in gear….Also if I’m in 1st gear and I give it throttle and immediately engage the clutch the rpms drop rapidly like I’m used to. I dont seem to have any power loss but it’s a strange sensation having the bike coast so far while still being in gear and it has affected my confidence in cornering heavily. Would love any and all advice relating to this before I start buying tools parts or taking her to the shop. Many thanks, Mushroom

·
UR B-hind Da 8 Ball
6,510 Posts
If your bike is an R6 (not an R6S), the throttle cable is not connected to the throttle plates on your bike. You know that right? Check the operation of the throttle servo that runs the throttle plates. You may need to clean the throttle mechanism.

·
Registered
6 Posts