Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 144 Posts

·
Waiting for remission...
2,444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What do you want from the next iteration of the R6? There are rumors floating about that it’s going to be a MotoGP look-alike. I find this hard to believe. While that design may be some percentage more aerodynamic than the current sporty look it won’t help sales as much as a baddass looking bike.

It’s also completely true (I’ve talked to people in Yamaha) that the R6 is NOT getting a cross-plane crankshaft. The engine size just won’t support it. I’m not a mechanical engineer so I have to take their word for it. I don’t think they would shoot that idea down if it weren’t untrue.

Yamaha is going to have some serious competition from the other manufacturers. Suzuki just slashed 20 pounds (410 lb. curb weight, still heavier then the R6) off the GSXR-600 and finally added some full sized brakes. Apparently Suzuki isn’t resting on their 300,000 bikes sold laurels. Smart move. Kawasaki, I can’t tell if they’ve done anything. Fail. Honda continues to innovate with ABS, electronic steering dampers, but like Yamaha, pushed their “new” bike back a year.

I’d like to see something besides “bold new graphics.” The mean looking R1 headlights would look sick on the R6 imo.

What’s your wish list for this new bike? Updated look? New engine? Better suspension?

·
Registered
405 Posts
I thought they will implement the cross plane crank shaft on the R6 eventually, guess thats out of the picture. Maybe shaving weight by using frame like ducati.

I seriously don't know what suzuki is doing lately, hopefully they can focus on new innovation next year when they switch to 1 man team in motogp.

Kawasaki is lazy in my opinion, all they have done is throw a bunch of after market parts on to the bike and tag it with a low msrp

·
Lets RIDEEEE!!!!
506 Posts