Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone please explain to me this 520 Conversion? Im new to this bike thing. What is the best brand in peoples opinion? What is all this ratio stuff? I want my bike to accelerate faster so which one do I go with? Anything info would help. Thanks

·
Registered
135 Posts
Can someone please explain to me this 520 Conversion? Im new to this bike thing. What is the best brand in peoples opinion? What is all this ratio stuff? I want my bike to accelerate faster so which one do I go with? Anything info would help. Thanks
Chain and sprocket change...
moast use 15 front and 47 rear(sprockets)..

search around on the sponsored sites/ebay and you wil find it quite easy..
all brands on the sponsored sites are good stuff

from what I've heared.. the 15.47 wil give you more acceleration on the bike and the front wheel wil lift from the ground alot easyer.. so just need to learn to gear a bit different.. and its a bit lighter than the regular stuff I believe.. (correct me if i'm wrong :sing)

personally I like the Vortex ones.. for the looks.. but dont like that they are alluminium.. but if ur not a stunter they wil work great from what I've heard.. :toocool:

little quote of the product :p
One of the major complaints we've seen with the 2006 R6 is that the first gear is SOOO Tall and it kind of "lugs" off the start then it begins to spin up well. This 520 conversion eliminates that tall first gear, gets the bike off the line faster and improves acceleration in EVERY gear. Top speed loss, in 6th gear is 7MPH.

This fits all of the R6s and increases power response across the rev range. Dyno tests prove that you can reach peak torque and HP an average of .3 seconds faster than stock!

Stock Sprocket sizes are 16 tooth front 45 tooth rear which has a final drive ratio of 2.81 Our optimum ratio is 15 tooth front 47 tooth rear which has a final drive ratio of 3.13

·
Registered