Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was at a red light with a couple of friends yesterday waiting for the light to turn green.

eventually it turned green, i launched in 1st at about 2500 rpms, regular slow launch.

after the launch i twisted the throttle all the way(full speed ahead style)

next thing i know in a matter of a second, im looking at my gas tank and im doing a wheelie... aside from me almost shitting my self since i have never done a wheelie before not even on a bicycle.... i let go of the throttle, and the front wheel came back down.

at this point my nuts smacked the gas tank and i kept going.

will this always happen when i give it full throttle like that? is there anything i should do to make this i land ok? any risks involved? cause i didnt know what to do so i just let off the throttle but i wanna be prepared if i ever go to the strip. any advice would be great, key answers im looking for:

Will this always happen when i give it full throttle?

What can i do to keep the wheel on the ground FOR SURE, and no i dont mind if it comes up like a foot cause thats not a big deal.

What do to when the wheelie does happen to make sure the wheel comes down safely and i dont bust my ass?

if anyone needs this info: im 6'2 210 lbs. lol.

p.s. this wheelie happened accidently at the busiest intersection in my town and several people saw(including some hot chicks) :YEA :YEA :YEA

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
what are the chances of it going too high and i slide off onto my ass?

how do i control it and make sure i can land it safe?

how do i prevent it from happening when i launch fast?

·
Registered
41 Posts
I wouldn't know how to control it, considering I only did a couple. What a rush right?

But to prevent it, try not to rip it hard quickly.

·
Premium Member
8,144 Posts