Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking of adding a power commander to my 2004 R6, just want to know what are the changes I can expect. I have a Yoshimura TRC slip on and a K&N air filter. By the way I dont race, just ride hard from time to time

·
I do it for the Chicks.
296 Posts
Same boat, im about to order my PC3, and I currently only have a slip on, and K&N. I plan on only doing a basic map until I get a header and velocity stacks, then Ill probably pay to have a custom map done. I want mine for more top end/higher rpm racing.

·
Registered
366 Posts
I am no expert but I believe that it adjusts how the ecu handles the performance mods that you put on...i.e. it takes advantage of the higher level of air in the intake due to your aftermarket air filter and tunes your bike accordingly

again i could be completely wrong but i believe that is the gist of it, somebody else can explain it to you in more detail if you want...and if your asking if you should get one then I would say yes

·
My other bike has 6wheels
127 Posts
I think you're pretty much right. I believe with the addition of a power commander there is the ability for the ecu to make adjustments to things such as the air/fuel ratio to compliment your other mods added to the engine.

I am no expert but I believe that it adjusts how the ecu handles the performance mods that you put on...i.e. it takes advantage of the higher level of air in the intake due to your aftermarket air filter and tunes your bike accordingly

again i could be completely wrong but i believe that is the gist of it, somebody else can explain it to you in more detail if you want...and if your asking if you should get one then I would say yes

·
I do it for the Chicks.
296 Posts
I know WHAT a power commander does. Im more wondering how much of a difference it makes with only Filter/Slip-on.