Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey people, hope you're all doing well, I'm new to the r6 forum. I basically almost lost my life today and wanted advice on situations like the one below which happened to me today. like how shall i use my brakes etc to affectively come to a better stop or from falling off my bike, i know how the braking system works but wanted to know more, whats the best way if your at high speeds on a motorway and any other advise.

So basically was on my R6 on the motorway doing 70 mph then there was a sudden bend on the motorway and the wind didnt let me turn properly. So i was heading straight for the ramps in the middle of the motorway. so I braked gently and didnt slam them so i dont topple over. Ended up right next to the motorway ramps on the grass, dirt and soil etc and accepted that im gonna fall so i tried to turn and slow down as much as possible so that i dont damage myself much when i fall, bike was wobbling alot but then out of no where i gained full control again so then i looked to my left and pulled out to get back in the lane. Was worried about my right leg cuz that was pretty much touching the ramps and it would have got crushed first. Lucky escape. any advice please. I will really appreciate it. I am just shook up about what happened and want to understand more on how I could of got out of that situation more or how I made it without falling. Thanks

Regards
Harris

·
Premium Member
493 Posts
Ha.

·
Registered
211 Posts
Counter steering.

Watch twist of the wrist 2 over and over again.

·
track junkie
2,257 Posts
no offense, but you sound like you've never really ridden a motorcycle before. what's your experience level?