Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
I'm addicted.
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, so i've been riding for about 7 months now, and have been avoiding taking people on the back. Apart from removing the rear seat and no gear for a passenger, I haven't had to worry much. But... Problem is still around, now that the weather here is starting to warm up and look better, girls want rides. So i think to myself "Who am I to deny any hot chicks a chance to hold onto me tight...". Reality is, i'm freaked out that the worst is going to happen and somehow put their life in danger. I've accepted the risks for myself, but not for anyone else on back..

So my question, is anyone else having problems with this. If not, how do I get past this. I realize riding time will make me more comfortable, but the fact is, even being comfortable with myself, im not quite comfortable with putting someone elses life in danger quite yet. Any advice or ideas?

·
Registered
796 Posts
I got my bike last summer, first day I had it this hot chick wanted to ride it (fastest thing she's been on was a 250 Ninja lols). But yea, all I could think about was her getting road rash all over, and it being my fault. This summer though I think I've had enough experience to go for some short low speed rides with a passenger.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Like acupholdr68 said, take it slow at first with a passenger. Make sure you talk with her, not drill her, on things like leaning with you going into a turn. Have her look over your shoulder through the turn when in the turn. When stopping/slowing down, have her grip your legs with hers and use her stomach muscles to help support herself. Instead of putting all her weight on her wrists, and/or sliding into you and crushing big jim and the twins. I usually also would say, hey if I need to speed up a little I'll pat your leg twice to HOLD ON.

·
I'm addicted.
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4