Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this topic has already been brought up but what is the best full exhaust system for the '04 r6. I've read a lot of what hammy has said and also a lot of what wolf has said and both these guys seem super qualified to help me out here so if you could i'd be extremely appreciative. By the way i love the wolf undertail look but is it really worth 1500 for a slip on? Is there any performance gain there at all? I'm new to this so any feedback would be awsome. Thanks

·
Registered
329 Posts
Ok, the under tail is a) only $995 to readers of this board not $1500 and b) not a full system but it does make about 8 bhp gains...

Whether it's worth $995 is a personal decision I guess

In terms of a full system, my view is they are not worth it for the road as the gains are only 1-2 bhp better than a slip on and in some cases not even that...

But - if you really want a full system we do a very good one and so do Akrapovic - (obviously) contact us for the Wolf or Bladerunners for the Akra...

·
IQ = Post Count
1,734 Posts
I thought the advantage of aftermarket Full Systems was two things a) that 1-2 hp gain that isn't really worth the money by itself and b) aftermarket headers made of Ti for example would be a lot lighter than stock.

·
Registered
329 Posts
Ti headers would be lighter but again the weight saving is not much different to that between wearing leathers or a cordura coat...

Most after market headers are not ti anyway they are stainless - having said that, Hindle headers for example are stainless but lighter than titanium as they are 22 guage (ie very very thin)

The only really useful place to save weight on a bike is unsprung weight - that is wheels, tyres, brakes etc - anything under the suspension