Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 2008 r6 with 3.5k miles on it. I want faster acceleration I don't care much about top end at 160mph because I think its pointless to go that fast if I'm going to give up acceleration. Let me know what you guys have for setups, what brands you use and how you like it! Planning on getting full leo vince exhaust, power commander 5, larger air filter, new sprocket and chain then a dyno tune. Let me know if you have any advice! i'm new to the r6's and I'd love any advice anyone has. Thanks!

·
Ride Safely
1,399 Posts
16/48 is stock, correct? and what brand are you running?
Stock is 16 / 45

i used stock chain and got pitbull front Sprocket and Driven rear Sprocket .

Stock is 525 Pitch

But i will be switching to 520 Pitch RK GXW with new Sprockets..

Note: Pitch must match on F Sprkt Chain and R Sprkt

·
Premium Member
35,477 Posts
I'd go with -1/+1. -1/+2 is TOO much, imo. I have Driven sprockets and DID chain. Also if you are super OCD like me, get a SpeedoDRD to fix your speedometer. Lastly, I'd probably swap out the sprockets and chain last. I'd run the full system and fuel management first because those are PLENTY quick already.

·
Ride Safely
1,399 Posts
I'd go with -1/+1. -1/+2 is TOO much, imo. I have Driven sprockets and DID chain. Also if you are super OCD like me, get a SpeedoDRD to fix your speedometer. Lastly, I'd probably swap out the sprockets and chain last. I'd run the full system and fuel management first because those are PLENTY quick already.
I agree with Sherman....now after adding fuel management and updated air filter with a flashed ECU im strugling to keep the front tire down so -1+1 Sounds more realistic.

·
Needs to Learn
158 Posts