Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
My name is Yogev, I am a student and my university is participating in the Formula SAE competition. For those who never heard about, Its an engineering competition between universities students around the world of building and racing a Formula car.
We are highly interesting in one of the YZF-R6 engine versions. My questions are:
1) Is there a preferred model (year) that is:
* Light weight
* Have a simple electricity requirement / don't have a lot of sensors.
* Have a performance options (without increasing the capacity)
2) Is there any benefit of turbo-charging a 0.6L engine (For example using Garrett GT15 or GT1241)?
3) The SAE rule:
"The engine(s) used to power the car must be a piston engine(s) using a four-stroke primary heat cycle with a displacement not exceeding 610 cc per cycle. "
4) In addition a 20mm diameter restrictor is located in the intake manifold.
Thanks in advance for your help
Yogev

·
Having trackday withdraws
135 Posts
Hey there! I was a student at Purdue and was on their FSAE team. Definitely a fun club and the best way to learn stuff. That being said, there is ton to consider with each an part chosen on the car.

I don't know weights off the top of my head of each motor, but as far as power output, newer is better.

All engines will have a sensor on the cam and crank to keep track of engine position. I believe every motor since Yamaha went FI on the R6 is an inductive crank and hall effect cam sensor. They all have coil on plug so you don't have to screw with distributors or spark plug wires. Every motor regardless of make is going to have a 3-phase type stator for the charging circuit. Use the stock rectifier and you're good to go.