Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I am new here from Australia. My long time wish (like any other motorbike lover) is to get an R6.
Previously owned Yamaha Rx135, Ninja400 and Mt-09. Never owned/ridden an aggressive super sport earlier. Two questions I would like to get the forum member's help.

1. 2014 R6 with just under 500 km. Looks stock (not even a single scratch and properly serviced by previous owner as advertised by reputable dealer). Is it worth to buy this. If yes, I am planning to get a certified mechanic inspection as I have limited knowledge.
2. Although I owned a Mt-09 for few months earlier, I am bit afraid to buy R6 if I could handle. I am 5 feet 7inches. But have gained lot of weight since I owned MT09. Previously used to be in 82kgs but now I am weighing 96kgs.

My usage would be occasional ride to office through highways and weekend rides (both will not be more than 40 mins single way). Since R6 is discontinued, and the latest model is out of my reach, I wish to buy an older model and maintain it like a collectable.

· Registered
168 Posts
Hello,

1- Idk, 500km for an 8 year old bike does seems sketchy; I´m sure i atleast did that milage the day i bought my bikes, i even think i rode some of my friends bikes for longer then that, not saying it´s impossible, but it´s too low IMO. ill just leave it like that.

2 - You are my height, but i only weight 71KG, i daily my R6 and track/Race the new gen R1, you will be fine. (no lowering on both)

And as a side note, not always the "newest" is the best, actually, the 08-09 R6, is the most powerful R6 ever made. that year, has the most HP/KW from factory out of all years/engines. Hence why i never upgraded mine LOL.

· Registered
2008 Yellow Flame R6R
156 Posts