Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2000 R6. The cam chain Tensioner sounds like it is stuck or not working. Rattling noise coming from motor at idle. I think it also could be effecting the perfomance of the bike. It jolts sometimes but either way I am replacing. Can anyone give a little guidence on what needs to be done to change it? If there is tricks to tighten? I am purchasing a a OEM new replacement CCT for it. It appears that I will need to remove the idle adjuster (not sure how to do that). Then it appears that I would need to remove the two bolts on the left and right side of the CCT. There also is one bolt head on the top of the CCT. I would assume that is how you tighten the tension? Need to know how tight or if I need to do anything like that. I am no mechanic but I do not want to pay $150 labor for a 30 minute job... PLus I like learning how to do things myself. Any advise would be grateful.. Cheers!

·
Registered
457 Posts
I would grab a copy of your repair manual and start there.

That said, usually the cam chain tensioners are spring loaded... but iv not replaced one on a r6.. Are you sure its cam chain noise? typically the clutch baskets rattle like crazy at an idle and will go away if you grab the clutch and release it a little bit in gear (noise goes away)

·
Official Noob Greeter
55,856 Posts
I suggest looking into a manual CCT from APE.... probably cheaper than stock and they dont wear out.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·